IslamFaith

IslamFaith

Importance of guests in Islam, beautifully explained in the Hadith

Hadith

حَدَّثَنَا عَبْدُ اللَّهِ بْنُ يُوسُفَ، أَخْبَرَنَا مَالِكٌ، عَنْ سَعِيدِ بْنِ أَبِي سَعِيدٍ الْمَقْبُرِيِّ، عَنْ أَبِي شُرَيْحٍ الْكَعْبِيِّ، أَنَّ رَسُولَ اللَّهِ صلى الله عليه وسلم قَالَ ‏‏ مَنْ كَانَ يُؤْمِنُ بِاللَّهِ وَالْيَوْمِ الآخِرِ فَلْيُكْرِمْ ضَيْفَهُ، جَائِزَتُهُ يَوْمٌ وَلَيْلَةٌ، وَالضِّيَافَةُ ثَلاَثَةُ أَيَّامٍ، فَمَا بَعْدَ ذَلِكَ فَهْوَ صَدَقَةٌ، وَلاَ يَحِلُّ لَهُ أَنْ يَثْوِيَ عِنْدَهُ حَتَّى يُحْرِجَهُ ‏”‏‏.‏ حَدَّثَنَا إِسْمَاعِيلُ، قَالَ حَدَّثَنِي مَالِكٌ، مِثْلَهُ وَزَادَ ‏”‏ مَنْ كَانَ يُؤْمِنُ بِاللَّهِ وَالْيَوْمِ الآخِرِ فَلْيَقُلْ خَيْرًا أَوْ لِيَصْمُتْ ‏”‏‏.‏”

Narrated Abu Shuraih Al-Ka`bi:

Allah’s Messenger (ﷺ) said, Whoever believes in Allah and the Last Day, should serve his guest generously. The guest’s reward is: To provide him with a superior type of food for a night and a day and a guest is to be entertained with food for three days, and whatever is offered beyond that, is regarded as something given in charity. And it is not lawful for a guest to stay with his host for such a long period so as to put him in a critical position.”

Narrated Malik:
Similarly as above (156) adding, “Who believes in Allah and the Last Day should talk what is good or keep quiet.” (i.e. abstain from dirty and evil talk, and should think before uttering).

Sahih al-Bukhari 6135
In-book : Book 78, Hadith 162
USC-MSA web (English) : Vol. 8, Book 73, Hadith 156  (deprecated)
Sahih Bukhari

6 responses to “Importance of guests in Islam, beautifully explained in the Hadith”

  1. Asalamu alaikum this Hadith is not legitimate. Make sure you verify what is correct before attributing it the Prophet saw.

    Like

  2. […] Your Mama and me, our brain are wired differently. We worry when we dont receive visitors to our hou… You guys are right. Any problems between mama and me is between husband and wife and when we all can agree to that, nobody should interfere in our problems, take sides, or provoke any sides. None of you know mama better than I do and I knew her since 1977 and I am not about to tell anyone of you the things that happened but like I said I have a one track mind and a one woman one man kind of guy until today, I have grown into a grandfather. I dont go astray just for a few minute of fun. Yeah! one of my son says we have a toxic relationship and our love affair ended a long time ago but I am still around because of my ……..grandchildren.They are the glue that binds me to this family no matter how fragile and flimsy that bond is. No matter how misunderstood this old man is. Let me ask you, children. Do you think I care about money?(Today money is only only about paying bills). During those years I dont even keep my ATM Card with me, it was entrusted to my wife to do as she pleases, I only keep a few hundred ringgit for my meals and cigarettes. I bought that stupid Kia so that I have the satisfaction of seeing her drive around in that car, so that if anybody sees her driving, they'll be asking , "Who is that lady?" Oh! so and so's wife! As for my mother, since we have an extra car, we decided to gift our car to her free for her convenience. We gave the car with no string attached except that the car is to be used by her. Within 6 month her grandson got into an accident and the car was totaled. How I loved my mother, she and me have a complex relationship.( It will take a whole chapter to understand the relationship) One day she called up when I was in KL and requested for money for her Umrah. She says she is short by about RM2500, I was happy that she called me up to ask for help, not surprise, not angry or shout at my own mother.I told her that I will be back in 2 days time to hand over the money personally. She didnt belief me! Kept asking "You are sure of coming?". 2 days later I went with your Mama to hand over the cash and I topped up another RM1k , so it became RM3500. No screaming, no shouting, no lecture and immediately after that we came home happy that I can help. Very proud of myself. My mother and me we have a very delicate and complex relationship and it is a lie if anybody says that she cursed our family. I can point the proof that her bark's worse than her bite. She is proud person never even bother to call me or bother to even ask me how I am. Can you imagine if I pick up the phone and lecture her. "You never bother to telephone me how I am and today you suddenly call and ask for money?" (It didnt even cross my mind) I am writing this only as an example. I wouldnt even dare to open my mouth to spit those words. My own mother who carried me for 9 months inside her and who am I to lecture her? That is not my style. Even if I dont like what comes out of her mouth, I will just sit there and pretend to listen, sooner or later after your mother let off her steam, I can guarantee you they will always ask "Sudah makan?". My style is before every overseas flight I would call her to tell her my destination and ask for her blessing, everytime. You will never know your plane might fall from the sky. […]

    Like

  3. Asalam alaikum could you help me wht islam say to those unannounced visitors who come to visit ad stay for along time …..we argued with my friend me I say is not a must someone has to call before he comes in her she say is s must they call 1st ad say how long they have to stay..could you help me

    Like

    • Walekumassalam, while it is not mandatory to call in advance (because in the old times there was no means to call in advance and visitors came unannounced) it is still a good practice to call up who you are visiting just to make it easy for them to accomodate your visit and plan for it well. It is just a goodwill gesture if you call. Though it is not necessary at all.

      Like

Leave a comment